Table of contents

Roll back changesets

Last Updated: 6/14/2016

Team Services | TFS 2015 | Visual Studio 2015 | Visual Studio 2013

A changeset is a permanent part of the history of your version-controlled items and cannot be undone or removed. However, you can roll back the effects of one or more changesets.

Tip:
You can confirm the changes that result from rolling back some items match what you intend to do before you commit them to the server. See Tips for details.

Required permissions

You must be one of the Contributors for your team project. See Team Foundation Server default groups, permissions, and roles.

Roll back changes from a single changeset

For example, a developer wants to remove the effects of a changeset:

Rollback changes from one changeset

To roll back a changeset from the Changeset Details page

To roll back a changeset from the History window

  • In the History window, open the shortcut menu of a version and choose Rollback Entire Changeset.

To roll back a changeset from Source Control Explorer

  1. In Source Control Explorer, select an item, open its shortcut menu, and choose Rollback.

    Note:
    The items you select determine the scope that the rollback changes.

  2. In the Rollback dialog box, select Rollback changes from a single changeset.

Roll back changes from a range of changesets

For example, a developer wants to remove the effects of some consecutive changesets:

Rollback changes from multiple changesets

To roll back a changeset from the History window

  • In the History window, select two or more consecutive versions, open their shortcut menu, and choose Rollback.

To roll back a changeset from Source Control Explorer

  1. In Source Control Explorer, select an item, open its shortcut menu, and choose Rollback.

    Note:
    The items you select determine the scope that the rollback changes.

  2. In the Rollback dialog box, select Rollback changes from a range of changesets.

Roll back to a specific version

For example, a developer wants to roll back a file to an earlier version, eliminating the effect of all changesets that occurred after that version:

Rollback to a single changeset

To roll back to a specific version

  1. In Source Control Explorer, select an item, open its shortcut menu, and choose Rollback.

  2. In the Rollback dialog box, select Rollback to a specific version.

Work from the command prompt

Tips

© 2016 Microsoft