Enable preview features

Last Update: 7/7/2017

Team Services | TFS 2017.1

NOTE

Feature availability: The preview features you can enable or disable will differ depending on whether you work from Team Services or an on-premises TFS. Preview features become available first on Team Services and then subsequently are made available with an update to TFS.

As new features are introduced, we're providing support for you to turn some of them on or off. That way, you can try them out, provide feedback, and work with those features that meet your requirements.

Some features provide a new user interface and functionality, which can be managed per user or team member. Others support a default experience for the account and are managed by an account administrator.

NOTE

Feature availability: You can turn on or off the following features for Team Services (cloud service), or from the web portal of the listed on-premises TFS version or a later version. Visit the Visual Studio Downloads page to get the latest TFS update. Additional resources may be required as annotated. To determine your platform or TFS version, see Provide product and content feedback.

Enable features for my use

From time to time, a new feature is introduced in Preview mode, which allows you to turn it on or off.

To enable or disable a feature in preview, access the Preview features option from your user account menu.

Open Preview Features

New Account Landing Page

NOTE

For Team Services, each user can enable or disable the account hub.

For TFS 2017.1, the account hub is automatically enabled for all users and cannot be disabled.

Here, we enable the New Account Landing page. This hub is associated with the account collection and not any one team project or team. To learn more about this feature, see Work effectively from your account hub. When you enable the New Account Landing page, you also enable the project page where you can share your project vision with your team.

Account Landing Page has been enabled

If you have administrative privileges, you'll see a menu from which to choose whether the feature is for you, or for all users who work within the account.

Preview features options, for me, logged-in user

Enable features at the account level (for all users)

When you enable a feature at the account level, you essentially turn it on for all users of your account. Each user can then disable the feature if they so choose.

TIP

If you don't see the user/account menu option, then you aren't an account administrator. To get added as one, see Add administrators to Team Services and TFS.

Preview features options for the account Preview features options for the account

Team expansion for notifications

NOTE

Feature availability: You can enable/disable Team expansion for notifications from Team Services and TFS 2017.1 and later versions.

Enable this feature for your account when you want notifications to be sent by default for all team-associated events. Such events include when pull requests are created or updated. Team admins can choose to opt-out of these notifications. See Manage team notifications.

Wiki

NOTE

Feature availability: The built-in wiki is in Preview and available for Team Services at this time. If you were using the Wiki Marketplace extension, you can migrate your existing pages to the new team project wiki.

You can enable a built-in Wiki for your team project or for an account. This feature is in preview and when enabled adds a Wiki* hub from which you can view and edit wiki pages.