Delete or recover Visual Studio Team Services account

Last Update: 1/10/2017

Team Services

If you don't need your Visual Studio Team Services account, you can delete it. If you change your mind within 90 days, you can recover your account. After 90 days, your account and data are permanently deleted.

When you delete your Visual Studio Team Services account:

  • All users lose access to account services and resources immediately.

  • Your account URL becomes available for anyone to use. But it might take up to 1 hour before your account URL becomes available again.

  • Your account is disabled and appears deleted in your profile for 90 days.

  • If your account is linked to an Azure subscription for billing purchases, you must unlink your account before you delete your account.

    You're still charged for any paid users and team services that your account uses during this billing cycle. Billing will stop after the current cycle ends.

To delete your Team Services account, you'll need Team Services account owner permissions. How do I find the account owner?

Before you delete your Visual Studio Team Services account

If your Team Services account uses an Azure subscription to bill purchases, you must first unlink your account from your Azure subscription before deleting your account.

To unlink your account, you'll need Team Services account owner permissions and at least Azure subscription Co-Administrator permissions. How do I find the account owner? Or learn more about Azure subscription administrators.

  1. Sign in to the Azure classic portal or Azure portal.

  2. Unlink your account from your Azure subscription.

    Azure classic portal

    Select your VSTS account, unlink your account from your Azure subscription

    Azure portal

    Browse, Team Services accounts, select your account

    Unlink your account from an Azure subscription

    Need help?

Delete your Visual Studio Team Services account

You'll need at least Basic access and Team Services account owner permissions to delete your Team Services account. How do I find the account owner?

  1. Sign in to your Visual Studio Team Services account (https://{youraccount}.visualstudio.com).

  2. Go to your Team Services account settings.

    Go to account settings

  3. Under Settings, delete your account.

    Click Delete account

    You'll be redirected to www.visualstudio.com, but you'll stay signed in.

  4. To review your accounts, go to your Visual Studio profile where you'll see your deleted account.

    Your account will appear deleted on your account list

    Need help?

Restore your Visual Studio Team Services account

Your account will be disabled but available for 90 days after you delete it. If you change your mind during this time, you can recover your account. After 90 days, your account and data are permanently deleted.

You'll need Team Services account owner permissions to restore your Team Services account. How do I find the account owner?

  1. Sign in to your Visual Studio profile.

    Why am I asked to choose between my work or school account and my personal account?

  2. Restore your account.

    Next to your deleted account, click Restore

    • If your account URL is still available, you can restore your account.

      Confirm restoring your account

    • If your account URL isn't available, provide a new URL.

      Rename your deleted account

  3. After you restore your account:

    • If billing was set up for your account, you'll have to set it up again. Just relink your account to an Azure subscription.

    • If your account was connected to Azure AD for authenticating user access, you won't have to reconnect it again.

    Need help?

Q&A

Q: How do I find the account owner?

If you have at least Basic access, you can find the current owner in your Team Services account settings.

  1. Go to your Team Services account settings.

    Go to account settings

  2. Under Settings, find the current owner.

    Find current owner

Q: Why don't I see the Team Services accounts that I own after I sign in to my Visual Studio profile on visualstudio.com?

A: The list of accounts that you own are associated with the identity that you use to sign in to Visual Studio Team Services.

If you were asked to choose between your personal Microsoft account, or your work or school account when you signed in, you might have selected the wrong identity.

Choose work or school account, or personal Microsoft account

Please try signing out completely from Team Services, then sign in again, and select your other identity.

Here's how you can sign out completely because just closing your browser doesn't always sign you out completely from Team Services:

  1. Close all browsers, including those that aren't running Team Services.

  2. Open a private or incognito browsing session.

  3. Go to this URL: http://aka.ms/vssignout

    You'll get a message that says "Sign out in progress". After you're signed out, you're redirected to the Visual Studio page @www.visualstudio.com.

    Tip If the sign-out page takes more than a minute, close the browser, and continue.

  4. Sign in to Visual Studio Team Services again. Select your other identity.

Q: Why must I choose between a "work or school account" and my "personal account"?

A: This happens when you sign-in with an email address, like jamalhartnett@fabrikam.com, that's shared by your personal Microsoft account and by your work account or school account. Although both identities use the same sign-in address, they're still separate identities with different profiles, security settings, and permissions, so you see this screen when you sign in:

Choose work or school account, or personal Microsoft account

  • Choose Work or school account if you used this identity to create your Team Services account or signed in with this identity before. For example, choose this option if you used to sign in to Team Services here:

    Old signin for work or school accounts

    Your identity is authenticated by your organization's directory in Azure Active Directory (Azure AD), which controls access to your Team Services account.

  • Choose Personal account if you used your Microsoft account with Team Services. For example, choose this option if you used to sign in to Team Services here:

    Old signin for Microsoft account

    Your identity is authenticated by the global directory for Microsoft accounts.

Q: Why can't I sign in after I choose either "personal Microsoft account" or "work or school account"?

A: This happens when your sign-in address is shared by your personal Microsoft account and by your work account or school account, but your selected identity doesn't have access. Although both identities have the same sign-in address, they're still separate identities with different profiles, security settings, and permissions.

Please try signing out completely from Team Services by following the steps below because just closing your browser might not sign you out completely from Team Services. Then sign in again to Team Services, and select your other identity:

  1. Close all browsers, including those that aren't running Team Services.

  2. Open a private or incognito browsing session.

  3. Go to this URL: http://aka.ms/vssignout

    You'll get a message that says "Sign out in progress". After you're signed out, you're redirected to the Visual Studio page @www.visualstudio.com.

    Tip If the sign-out page takes more than a minute, close the browser, and continue.

  4. Sign in to Team Services again. Select your other identity.

Q: How do I get help or support for Team Services?

A: Try the Team Services forum or Team Services Support.