Clean Up Files When Users Leave

Last Update: 9/26/2016

Team Services | TFS 2015 | Visual Studio 2015 | Visual Studio 2013

When a member leaves a team, version control administrators must correctly dispose of that member's files.

Required Permissions

To perform these procedures, you must be a member of the Team Foundation Administrators security group. For more information, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

To clean up version-controlled files after a team member leaves

  1. Check in any files that are checked out to the team member who has left.

    Note: If the member's checked-out files do not need to be saved, omit this step.

  2. Delete the workspaces of the member who has left.

    This operation can be performed only from the command line. For more information, see Workspace Command.

See Also

Tasks

Remove a User From a Team Project or Team Project Collection