feedback
Skip to content
/Git 虚拟文件系统设计历史

Git 虚拟文件系统设计历史

By Saeed Noursalehi

Git 虚拟文件系统设计历史

作者 Saeed Noursalehi

GVFS 在 Git 存储库下实现虚拟文件系统,以解决下面两个主要问题:

  • 只下载用户需要的内容
  • 方便本地 Git 命令只考虑用户关心的文件,而非工作目录中的所有文件

我们的目标用例是 Windows 存储库,它的工作目录中有超过 300 万个文件,源文件总大小为 270GB。 工作目录中的这 270GB 文件位于主分支的顶端。 若要克隆此存储库,必须下载大小约为 100GB 的包文件,此过程需要几个小时才能完成。 克隆成功后,本地 git 操作仍需要很长时间才能运行(如 checkout、status 和 commit 分别需要 3 小时、8 分钟和 30 分钟才能完成),因为所有这些命令与文件数量之间存在线性关系。 即使面临这些挑战,我们也仍希望将 Windows 基准代码迁移到 git,为开发者提供合理的用户体验。 同时,我们还希望可以尽量少更改 git,因为迁移到 git 的主要优势之一是,git 是一款知名工具,关于如何使用它,我们共同掌握和享有许多知识。

在决定生成 GVFS 前(提示:生成文件系统并不简单),我们探索了其他许多选项。 我们将在即将发布的文章中详细介绍 GVFS 工作方式,而现在我们要介绍的是所考虑过的其他选项,以及我们为什么最终决定生成虚拟文件系统。

背景

为什么只有一个存储库?!

我们先来解决最显而易见的问题。 为什么需要这么大的存储库?! 只需缩小存储库,生活就会变得更加美好! 是吗?!

事情并不是这么简单。 其他人已探究过单存储库的价值(有关详细信息,请访问 https://www.bing.com/search?q=monorepo)。 在 Microsoft,多个大型团队已采取将代码分解到小型存储库的做法,也有许多团队认为一个大型存储库更适合自己。

分解大型基准代码不是一件容易的事情,但也不是灵丹妙药。 对于小型存储库,优点是各个存储库中的扩展挑战不会太难应对,但缺点是跨所有这些存储库对代码进行横切式更改更加困难了。 使用多个存储库还会令发布过程更加复杂。 最后要说的是,如果缩放问题可以解决,使用一个存储库通常可以大大简化整个工作流。

VSTS

VSTS 产品包含多个相互协作的不同服务。最初迁移到 Git 时,我们将这些服务分别放入它们自己的存储库中。 我们这样做的原因是,任何一个存储库中要处理的缩放问题都会变少,而且使用多个独立的存储库也有助于强制实现一些代码边界。 但实际上,这些边界带来的弊大于利。

首先,许多开发者不得不跨存储库边界进行横切式更改。 管理这些依赖项非常痛苦,并且对提交和拉取请求进行正确排序的效率也极低。 为了克服这些困难,我们不得不生成大量工具,但随后这些工具自身也出现了问题,这让开发者非常不快。

其次,发布过程变得更加复杂。 虽然 VSTS 服务每 3 周部署一次,并且每个服务都可以几乎独立的方式进行部署,但我们每个季度还要交付一次盒装产品 Team Foundation Server。 TFS 在同一基准代码的基础之上构建而成,并附加有约束,要求所有这些服务必须安装在同一台计算机上,因此全都必须相互兼容(例如, 所有这些服务必须就共享依赖项版本达成一致)。 这些基准代码可以在三个月内有所出入,之后需要尝试为每版 TFS 将它们重新组合在一起,事实证明此过程的费用非常高。

最后,我们意识到,将所有代码都放入一个存储库中,可以大大简化我们的日常开发工作流。 这样一来,我们还可以强制实施约束。比如,所有服务都必须依赖同一版的依赖项;任何人若要更新这些组件之一,还必须更新其使用者。 这样虽然需要多完成一些前期工作,但可以大大减少每季度发布的工作量。 当然,这也意味着,我们必须致力于改进生成工具,以强制实施这些约束。此外,我们还必须完成更多工作,以创建强大的代码边界,并避免所有不同的服务间出现依赖项混乱现象。

Windows

Windows 团队在计划迁移到 Git 时,也经历了类似的过程。 多个 Windows 组件都可以放入它们自己的独立存储库中,而这一度成为记录在册的计划。 Windows 基准代码可以放入大约十几个存储库中。 不过,此计划存在两个问题。 首先,虽然这些存储库大部分都很小,可便于与现有工具配合使用,但至少有一个存储库 (OneCore) 必须为 100GB 左右,因此我们仍然摆脱不掉解决大型存储库的缩放问题的命运。 其次,我们还是引发了同样的问题,即难以执行横切式更改,而将 Windows 迁移到一个存储库的目标之一是可以更轻松地进行重大重构,而不是增加复杂程度。

我们的设计理念

作为工具开发者,我们的设计理念是:工具应方便用户针对基准代码做出正确选择。 如果使用小型存储库可以提升代码运行和团队工作效率,那么工具就应该实现这一目标,并在相应环境中实现高效工作流。 如果使用大型存储库可以提升团队工作效率,那么工具不得成为必须将存储库分解为更小区块的原因。

考虑过的备用解决方案

我们一直在努力解决以下问题:如何让团队能够处理 Git 中的超大型基准代码? 近年来,我们的设计理念确实经历了一个发展过程,下面将介绍其中一些理念。

子模块

为了解决此问题,我们首先主要尝试的是,使用 git 子模块的现有概念。 在 Git 中,一个存储库可以引用另一个存储库。因此,签出父存储库中的提交时,此提交也会指定每个子存储库中要签出的提交,以及要将它放置在父存储库工作目录中的哪个位置。 乍看之下,这似乎是将大型存储库分解为许多个小型存储库的理想方法。 我们当然也这样认为,并且花了几个月的时间来生成工具,以便能够优化命令行体验,方便用户管理子模块。

不过,子模块其实只适用于一个存储库使用另一个存储库中代码的情形。 在此模型中,子模块的表现非常不错,在用户心里就相当于 NuGet 或 npm 包。 它是独立于父存储库的库或组件,父存储库大多只是一个使用者。 当父存储库需要对子模块进行一些更改时,可以在相应子存储库中进行更改,完成它的发布过程(毕竟它是一个独立库,具有自己的代码评审、测试和发布要求)。在这些更改被接受后,立即将父存储库更新为使用这一新提交。

我们当时的想法是,为什么不进一步扩展此概念。 我们认为可以分解大型基准代码,大致步骤是将各个顶层文件夹置于它自己的存储库中,再创建一个可将所有子存储库重新拼结在一起的超级存储库。 然后,我们创建了一个便于用户执行操作的工具,如跨所有存储库运行“git status”、跨多个存储库进行提交、推送更改等。

最后,我们放弃了此方法,因为它引发的问题与它解决的问题几乎一样多。 首先,我们发现这样会令工作流复杂化,因为现在每个提交实际上都需要转化为至少两个提交或更多个,因为需要将超级存储库更新为引用要修改的所有子存储库。 其次,确实无法跨多个存储库执行原子性提交或推送。若要这样做,可以强制所有推送经过服务器上的一个瓶颈,但这样又会给开发者制造许多困境。 第三,大多数开发者并没有兴趣成为版本控制专家,他们感兴趣的是自己的日常工作,而工具只需供他们使用即可。 要求每个开发者必须成为 DAG 专家才能使用 git 已是一项艰巨挑战,而在使用这个超级存储库方法时,我们竟要求每个开发者必须使用一组松散耦合的 DAG,并保持所有 DAG 整齐有序,始终必须按顺序签出/提交/推送内容。 提出的这些要求显然过多了。

将多个存储库拼结在一起

虽然子模块的可行性不太高,但我们仍认为或许可以创建多个存储库,并使用某自定义工具将它们拼结在一起。 Android 一直将此方法用于 repo.py,因此我们认为这种方法值得一试。 然而,我们再次发现这种方法的代价并不值当。 由于每个存储库都是独立的,因此在其中一个存储库中工作时,工作流非常简单;但若需要跨存储库边界工作,工作流将会变得更加复杂。 此外,发布管理现在也成为非常困难的一个环节,因为在版本控制历史记录本身中,无法根据任何内容了解到,应为指定内部版本将各个存储库中的哪些提交 ID 组合在一起。 也就是说,现在需要生成其他版本控制系统,以供发布之用。

从以上两种方法汲取的主要教训是:不能将存储库分割的比生成和交付内容还小。

Git 备用项

若要尝试重用现有功能,可以采用 git 的备用对象存储这一概念。 每当 git 需要查找提交、树或 blob 对象时,都会查找 .gitobjects 文件夹中的松散对象,以及 .gitobjectspack 文件夹中的包文件。若配置,git 还会在备用路径中查找其他松散对象和包文件。

因此,我们使用指向网络共享的备用项,以免在克隆或提取时要将服务器上的所有 blob 复制到客户端。 这种方法有一定作用,但效率不高,只解决了历史内容太多的问题,并没有解决工作目录中的文件太多和索引中的条目太多这个问题。

这又是一个我们尝试改变功能原本用途的例子,不一致性引发的负面影响让我们无法承受。 备用项只适用于已克隆过一次存储库的用例,可以将第二次克隆配置为共享第一次克隆中的对象存储,而不是再次克隆并复制所有对象。 由于也已假定这些对象和包文件位于本地,因此可以快速访问它们,无需第二个缓存层,并且 .pack 和 .idx 文件中的随机存取 IO 也不是问题。 将备用项指向网络共享时,违反了所有这些假定,因此性能也确实受到了影响。

浅表克隆

Git 现有一项功能,可以仅下载有限数量的提交,而不下载历史记录中的所有提交。 不过,此功能对 Windows 这么大的存储库真的没有帮助,因为任何一个提交及其相关的树和 blob 都超过 80GB。 由于大多数用户并不需要一个提交的全部内容才能完成日常工作,因此我们需要通过一种方法来缩减此大小。

与备用项一样,浅表克隆对解决工作目录中文件太多的问题毫无帮助。

稀疏签出

默认情况下,当用户签出提交时,git 会将此提交引用的所有文件都置于工作目录中。 不过,可以使用文件、文件夹和模式列表配置 .gitinfosparse-checkout 文件,以指示 git 仅写入一部分文件。 我们认为此方法的发展前景广阔,因为大多数开发者只需要一小部分文件,即可完成工作。 此功能的主要限制是:

  • 稀疏签出只影响工作目录,对索引没有影响。 因此,即使只需要工作目录中的 5 万个文件,索引仍包含全部 3 百万个条目
  • 稀疏签出是静态的。 因此,如果已配置为包含文件夹 A,但稍后有人添加了对未包含的文件夹 B 的依赖性,那么在发现需要更新稀疏签出路径前,生成将开始中断
  • 稀疏签出不影响克隆或提取时的下载内容,因此即便未计划签出存储库 95% 的内容,也仍需进行下载
  • 稀疏签出的 UX 有点难用

虽说如此,稀疏签出已成为我们的解决方案的关键部分,我们以后将进行说明。

LFS

将不可比较的大型文件签入 git 存储库后,每次修改都会在历史记录中创建此文件的新副本,导致内容大量膨胀。 Git-LFS 可使用内容的文本指针重写大型 blob,从而帮助解决此问题,随后实际内容会存储在单独的存储中。 克隆存储库时,只需下载非常小的指针文件,然后 LFS 就只会为实际签出的大型文件版本下载内容。

Windows 团队花了不少精力,让 LFS 为自己所用。 此方法非常适用于缩减存储库的大小,所以他们从中受益良多。但遗憾的是,此方法无法缩减文件数量或索引大小。也就是说,它对本地命令的长运行时起不到任何帮助作用。 所以,此方法生成的存储库仍不是完全可用。

虚拟文件系统

通过上述所有实验,我们明白了:

  • 我们确实需要一个大型存储库
  • 大多数开发者无需获取大部分内容,即可完成日常工作,但他们确实需要可以灵活选择处理存储库的任何部分,而不受任意边界约束
  • 我们希望尽量利用 git 的现有功能,除非绝对必要,否则不对客户端进行任何更改

我们最终想到在存储库下实现虚拟文件系统,这种想法主要有以下几个优势:

  • 只下载开发者实际需要的 blob。 对于大多数开发者,这大概是 5-10 万个文件及其相关的历史记录,永远不需要复制存储库的大部分内容。
    • 此方法还轻松地解决了不可比较的大型文件问题
  • 借助一些巧妙的技巧,我们可以让 git 只局限于开发者实际处理的文件,以便 git status 和 checkout 等操作不再与 3 百万个文件存在线性关系,而是与更少数量的文件存在线性关系
  • 我们可以获得稀疏签出功能带来的好处,即只将必要的文件写入工作目录,而不受其弊端影响。 最重要的是,现在文件集签出是动态的,并完全以开发者所需的特定文件为依据。
  • 无需更新任何生成工具、IDE 等,即可知道这一切正在发生,因为它们只打开自己需要的文件,文件系统会确保显示相应内容

当然,也会有许多挑战。

  • 委婉地说,生成文件系统较为困难。
  • 我们明白,性能至关重要。 如果第一次文件访问由于网络延迟而较慢,开发者会谅解我们,但第二次文件访问最好没有明显开销,否则开发者会对我们大加指责。
  • 我们认为,必须明智地决定预提取内容,以免发生不必要的延迟。 通常情况下,内容越小,可感受到的延迟就越多。 例如,树对象虽然很小,但数量很多。
  • 我们仍需要思考,如何让 git 在虚拟文件系统基础之上出色运行。 我们能否不让 git 浏览全部 350 万个文件,即使这些文件看起来全都位于磁盘上? git 的所有命令遵循稀疏签出配置的彻底程度如何? 是否有将浏览太多 blob 的情况? (提示:这称为“预示”)

今后发布的文章将介绍我们是如何设计 GVFS,从而解决这些问题并实现我们的性能目标的。

Saeed Noursalehi

Saeed Noursalehi

Saeed Noursalehi is a Principal Program Manager on the Visual Studio Team Services team at Microsoft, and works on making Git scale for the largest teams in Microsoft

Git Virtual File System Design History

By Saeed Noursalehi

GVFS virtualizes the file system beneath a Git repo to solve two main problems:

  • Only download contents that the user needs
  • Make local Git commands consider just the files that the user cares about, and not all the files that exist in the working directory

Our target use case is the Windows repo, which has over 3 million files in the working directory, totalling 270GB of source files. That’s 270GB in the working directory, at the tip of master. To clone this repo, you would have to download a packfile that is about 100GB in size, which would take hours. And once you’ve succeeded in cloning it, local git operations like checkout (3 hours), status (8 minutes), and commit (30 minutes) would still take way too long to run, because all of those commands are linear on the number of files. Even with those challenges, we still wanted to move the Windows codebase to git, and allow developers to have a reasonable experience. At the same time, we wanted to make as few changes to git as possible, because one of the main advantages of moving to git is that it is a well-known tool, with lots of collective knowledge about how to use it.

Before we decided to build GVFS (hint: building a file system is hard), we explored a lot of other options. We’ll cover how GVFS works in detail in an upcoming article, but for now, we’ll discuss the other options we considered and why we landed on building a virtual file system.

Background

Why one repo?!

Let’s tackle the first, most obvious question. Why does anyone need a repo this big?! Just make your repos smaller, and life will be so much better! Right?!

It’s not quite so simple. Others have already documented the value of monorepos (plenty to read at https://www.bing.com/search?q=monorepo). At Microsoft, several large teams have gone down the path of breaking their code up into smaller repos, and many have decided that one large repo is better for them.

Splitting up a large codebase is no small task, but it’s also not a panacea. Smaller repos would mean simpler scale challenges in each individual repo, but they also make it much more difficult to do cross-cutting changes that have to touch the code in all of those repos. Multiple repos also make your release process more complicated. In the end, if the scale issues can be solved, having one repo often makes the overall workflows far simpler.

VSTS

The VSTS product comprises several different services that all work together, and when we first moved to Git, we put each of those services in their own repo. Our reasoning was that there are fewer scale issues to deal with in any one repo, and having separate repos also helps enforce some code boundaries. In practice, however, the boundaries created more pain than benefit.

For one thing, many developers would have to make cross-cutting changes across repo boundaries. Managing those dependencies was painful, and ordering the commits and pull requests correctly was very inefficient. We had to build a lot of tooling to deal with those pain points, but those tools then had issues of their own, and our developers were very frustrated.

Secondly, our release process became much more complicated. While the VSTS service deploys once every 3 weeks and each service can deploy mostly independently, we also ship a box product, Team Foundation Server, once a quarter. TFS is built out of the same codebase, and it has an added constraint that all of those services must be installed on the same machine and therefore must all be compatible with each other, e.g. they all need to agree on the versions of their shared dependencies. Allowing the codebases to diverge for three months and then trying to bring them back together for each TFS release proved to be very expensive.

In the end, we realized that putting all of the code in one repo would make our day to day development workflows much simpler. It also allowed us to enforce constraints such as: all services must depend on the same version of a dependency, and anyone who wants to update one of those components must also update their consumers. This creates a little more work up front, but saves a lot of work for each quarterly release. Of course this meant that we had to invest in improving our build tooling to enforce those sorts of things, and we also had to do more work to create strong code boundaries and avoid a mess of dependencies across all the various services.

Windows

The Windows team went through a similar thought process when planning their move to Git. There are several components of Windows that could feasibly live in their own separate repos, and for a while, that was the plan of record. The Windows codebase would live in a dozen or so repos. However, there were two problems with this plan. First of all, while most of those repos would be small enough to use with existing tools, at least one of the repos (OneCore) needed to be around 100GB in size, so we still couldn’t get away from solving the scale issues for a large repo. And secondly, we were creating that same problem that cross-cutting changes are difficult to do, and one of the goals of moving Windows to one repo is to make it easier to do major refactorings, not more complicated.

Our design philosophy

Which brings us to our philosophy as tool developers: Tools should enable you to make the right choices for your codebase. If your code would be healthier and your team would be more productive by working in smaller repos, then the tools should make that possible and enable efficient workflows in that environment. And if your team would be more productive in a larger repo, the tools should not be the reason that you have to split your repo up into smaller chunks.

Alternatives considered

So we’ve been working on this question of: how do we enable teams to work with very large codebases in Git? We’ve gone through quite an evolution of design ideas over the last few years, and we’ll talk about some of those ideas here.

Submodules

The first major attempt that we made to solve this problem was to use the existing concept of git submodules. Git allows one repo to reference another repo, so that when you checkout a commit in the parent repo, that commit also specifies which commit to checkout in each sub repo and where to place it in the working directory of the parent. At first glance, this appears like an ideal way to split up a large repo into lots of smaller ones. We certainly thought so, and we spent a few months working on a tool that would smooth over the command line experience of managing submodules.

However, submodules were really designed for the scenario where one repo is consuming code from another repo. In that model, submodules work really well, and the submodule is the moral equivalent of a NuGet or npm package. It’s a library or a component that is independent of the parent repo, and the parent repo is mostly just a consumer. In cases where the parent needs to make some changes in the submodule, that can be done by making changes in that sub repo, going through its release process (after all, it’s an independent library with its own code review, test, and release requirements), and then once those changes are accepted, update the parent repo to consume this new commit.

Our thought was, why not extend this concept a bit. We figured we could take a large codebase and split it apart, roughly speaking by taking each top-level folder and putting it into its own repo, and then create one super-repo that stitched all the subrepos back together. Then we created a tool that would allow you to do things like run “git status” across all the repos, make commits across multiple repos, push those changes, etc.

In the end, we dropped that approach, because it created nearly as many problems as it fixed. For one, we found that we were complicating people’s workflows because now every single commit actually had to become at least two commits, if not more, due to the need to update the super repo to reference whatever child repo(s) you were modifying. Second, it’s not really possible to do atomic commits or pushes across multiple repos – you can make it happen by forcing all pushes to go through a single bottleneck on a server, but that again creates lots of painful scenarios for developers. And third, most developers are not interested in becoming version control experts, they’re interested in doing their day jobs and the tool just needs to work for them. Asking every developer to become a DAG expert in order to work with git is a hard enough challenge, but with this super-repo approach, we were now asking every developer to work with a collection of loosely coupled DAGs, and to keep all of that straight and never checkout/commit/push things out of order. It was just too much to ask.

Multiple repos, stitched together

Submodules didn’t quite work out, but we still thought maybe we can create multiple repos and use some custom tooling to stitch them together. Android has been using this approach with repo.py, so we figured it was worth a look. And again, we found that the tradeoffs didn’t work out well for us. Now that each repo is independent, the workflows are simplified when you’re working inside one of those repos, but they’re even more complicated if you need to work across repo boundaries. And release management is now a major pain, since there’s nothing in your version control history itself that tells you what commit id’s from the various repos should be brought together for a given build. So that means that you now need to build another versioning system for releases.

The major lesson learned from the above two approaches is: you should not slice up your repos into a smaller granularity than what you build and ship.

Git alternates

In the theme of trying to reuse existing features, git has a concept of an alternate object store. Whenever git needs to find a commit, tree, or blob object, it looks for loose objects in the .git\objects folder, pack files in the .git\objects\pack folder, and if they’re configured, it will also look in alternate paths for more loose objects and pack files.

So we went down the path of using alternates that point at network shares to avoid the need for copying all blobs from the server to the client when you clone or fetch. This approach sort of worked, but not efficiently, and it only addresses the problem of too much historical content, not the problems of too many files in the working directory and too many entries in the index.

This was another example where we were trying to use a feature for something other than what it was designed for, and the mismatch caused side effects that we couldn’t live with. Alternates were designed for the use case where you’ve already cloned a repo once, and rather than clone it a second time and duplicate all of the objects, you can configure your second clone to share the object store from the first clone. Since those objects and packfiles are also assumed to be local, they can be accessed quickly, there’s no need for a second layer of caching, and random-access IO in the .pack and .idx files is not a problem. All of those assumptions are violated when you point the alternate at a network share, and the performance really suffers as a result.

Shallow clones

Git has an existing feature to only download a limited number of commits, rather than all commits in history. However, this doesn’t really help a repo as big as Windows, since any one commit and its associated trees and blobs come to over 80 GB in size. And given that most people do not need all of the contents of even a single commit in order to do their daily work, we needed a way to reduce that size.

And like alternates, shallow clones don’t help at all with the issue of just having too many files in the working directory.

Sparse-checkout

By default, when you checkout a commit, git will place all of the files referenced by that commit into your working directory. However, you can configure the .git\info\sparse-checkout file with a list of files, folders, and patterns, to tell git to only write a subset of the files. This was very promising for us, because most developers only need a small subset of the files to do their work. The major limitations of this feature are:

  • The sparse-checkout only affects the working directory, but not the index. So even if you only need 50K files in your working directory, the index still has all 3M entries
  • The sparse-checkout is static. So if you’ve configured it to include folder A and someone later adds a dependency on folder B that you have not included, your builds will start to break until you can figure out that you need to update your sparse-checkout paths
  • The sparse-checkout does not affect what is downloaded when you clone or fetch, so even though you don’t plan to checkout 95% of the repo, you still have to download it
  • The UX of sparse-checkouts is somewhat difficult to use

All of that said, sparse-checkouts became a key part of our solution, as we’ll discuss later.

LFS

When large, undiffable files are checked into a git repo, every modification creates a new copy of that file in the history and results in a lot of bloat. Git-LFS helps with this problem by rewriting the large blobs with text pointers to the content, and the actual content is then stored in a separate store. When you clone a repo, you only have to download the tiny pointer files, and then LFS will download the contents just for the versions of those large files that you actually checkout.

The Windows team spent a fair bit of effort on making LFS work for them. This approach works well to reduce the size of a repo so they got some benefit from that, but unfortunately it does not reduce the number of files or the size of the index, which means it doesn’t help at all with the long runtimes of local commands. Therefore this approach still resulted in a repo that was not all that usable.

Virtual file system

From all of the above experiments, we learned:

  • We really do need to have a single, large repo
  • Most developers don’t need most of the contents for their daily work, but they do need the flexibility to work in any part of the repo, without coming up against arbitrary boundaries
  • We wanted to use the existing features of git as much as possible, and not make any changes to the client unless absolutely necessary

We eventually came up with the idea to virtualize the file system underneath the repo, which gave us a few key benefits:

  • Only download blobs that the developer actually needs. For most people, this will be about 50-100K files, with their associated histories, and most of the contents of the repo never have to be copied.
    • It naturally solves the large, undiffable files problem as well
  • With some clever tricks, we can convince git to only look at the files that the developer has actually worked with, so that operations like git status and checkout are no longer linear on 3M files, but on a much smaller number
  • We can get the benefits of the sparse-checkout feature, namely only writing the necessary files to the working directory, without its drawbacks. Most importantly, the set of files that are checked out is now dynamic, and entirely based on the specific files that the developer needs.
  • None of the build tools, IDEs, etc have to be updated to know that this is happening, because they can just open the files they need and the file system will make sure the contents show up

Of course, there would be many challenges too.

  • Building a file system is, to put it mildly, difficult.
  • We knew that performance is absolutely critical. Our developers would forgive us if the first file access is slow due to network latency, but the second file access better have no noticable overhead or people would come after us with pitchforks.
  • We figured we’d have to be smart about prefetching some things, to avoid unnecessary latency. In general, the smaller the contents, the more you feel the latency. As an example, tree objects are tiny, and there are lots of them.
  • We still had to figure out how to get git to play nicely on top of the virtualized file system. Could we actually convince git to not walk all 3.5M files even though it looks like they’re all on disk? How thoroughly does git honor the sparse-checkout configuration in all of its commands? Are there cases where it will walk through too many blobs? (Hint: this is called foreshadowing)

In a future article, we’ll discuss how we designed GVFS to solve those issues and meet our performance goals.